Summertime Burn Ban in effect May 1 for many Georgia counties

The annual Burn Ban for more than 50 Georgia counties resumes May 1 and continues through Sept. 30. Affected counties include most in the Atlanta area as well as many surrounding Augusta, Macon, Columbus and Chattanooga.

While some counties are subject to almost complete outdoor burning bans, such as the 19 closest to Atlanta, others have more allowances. Those prohibitions and allowances can be referenced on the Georgia Department of Natural Resources Environmental Protection Division’s website:

Of course, outdoor grilling of food and recreational fires for roasting s’mores are still allowed, but again, reference the above EPD website page for specific information.

And be careful about trying to get away with roasting marshmallows over a burning leaf pile. They’ve cottoned on to that trick.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *